Wine Tasting – Wine Tours in Italy


 
 

»» Wine Tours in Piedmont: Monferrato

The wine itinerary proposed is centered on the Monferrato, in Piedmont, an area offering a host of interesting wine and gastronomical attractions.

Piedmont Wine Tour

The most important city in the area is Asti, 35 km from Turin, via A21 Highway.

From Asti start two itineraries: one heading toward north to the ‘Basso Monferrato’, the other one toward south to the ‘Alto Monferrato’ (now we are mostly covering the wines from ‘Basso Monferrato’).

- Some among the typical local Wines –

- Dolcetto d’Asti. (DOC); ruby red wine; dry still; Alcohol: 11.5%
- Barbera del Monferrato. (DOC); bright red wine; dry still / dry sparkling sweet / sweet still ; Alcohol: 12%
- Asti. (DOCG ); straw yellow ; sparkling sweet / sweet still ; taste: sweet; Alcohol: 12%
- Cisterna d’Asti. (DOC ); ruby red ; dry; taste: dry delicate; Alcohol: 12%
- Grignolino del Monferrato Casalese. (DOC ); ruby red ; dry still; taste: dry delicate; Alcohol: 11% – 13%

- Some Wineries in the area -

- Araldica Vini Piemontesi: 14040 Castel Boglione (AT); www.araldicavini.com
- Antica Casa Vinicola Scarpa 14049 Nizza Monferrato; www.scarpavini.it
- Bava 14023 Cocconato (AT); www.bava.com
- Bersano & Riccadonna S.p.A. Nizza Monferrato (AT); www.bersano.it
- Cantina Barbera Sei Castelli Agliano Terme (AT); www.barberaseicastelli.it
- Cantine Cavallotti Calamandrana (AT); www.cantinecavallotti.com
- Cantine Fontanile Fontanile (AT); www.cantinefontanile.com
- Cantine Merlone Cossombrato (AT); www.cantinemerlone.com
- Cantine Sant’Agata Scurzolengo (AT); www.santagata.com
- Castello Del Poggio Frazione Poggio Stazione Portacomaro (AT); www.poggio.it
- Cascina Monsignore Frazione Poggio, 14 (AT); www.cascina-monsignore.it
- Cocchi Giulio Spumanti Asti; www.cocchi.com
- F.lli Gancia & C. S.p.A. Canelli (AT); www.gancia.it
- La Dogliola Bubbio (AT); www.ladogliola.it
- Poderi Giovanni Rosso Agliano Terme (AT); www.poderirossogiovanni.it
- Selectvini s.r.l Canelli (AT); www.selectvini.it
- Tenuta La Pergola Cisterna d’Asti (AT); www.tenutalapergola.it
- Tenuta GarettoAgliano Terme (AT); www.garetto.it
- Tenuta San Girolamo Tonco (AT); www.tenutasangirolamo.com
- Terre da Vino Barolo (AT); www.terredavino.it
- Venturino Giancarlo Vaglio Serra (AT); www.venturinovini.com
- Vigneti Brichet di Massasso e Figli Isola d’Asti (AT); www.vignetibrichet.it
- Villa Fiorita Castello di Annone (AT); www.villafiorita-wines.com

- Art, History & Things to See -

Monferrato- Piedmont

- Asti: Cathedral, Archeological Museum, S.Secondo Church, Battistero S.Pietro.
- Moncalvo: S.Francesco church, Santuario di Crea (in the surroundings)
- Montiglio: the XIV cent. Castle.
- Cocconato: Palazzo Comunale.
- Nizza Monferrato: The market of the grapes and wines.

- Things to do -

The best time to visit the area is in Autumn, as several festivals focusing on the grape harvest are scheduled there in September, October and November.
Among them: ‘Palio Asti’ in Asti (Sep), ‘Truffle fair’ in Moncalvo (Sep/Oct), ‘Palio d. Asini’ in Cocconato (Sep).

Are you traveling by group? Are you a travel agent? If you want build customised Wine Tours in Italy Ask advice to Italian Tour Operators specialising in Wine Tours

( Browse Accommodation in Piedmont bookable online )


Facebook Twitter More...


Most Popular Stories:









»» Italy Travel Tips

advice on sightseeing, tours, and events

»» Italian Lifestyle

culture, food, art, travel and the Italian way of life

»» Fashion & Shopping Tours

fashion tours; shopping online designer brands


Popular Destinations - Travel Tips
Advice, tips and reviews on some of most popular destinations and places to visit

» Florence
» Milan
» Rome
» Siena
» Venice
» Amalfi Coast
» Cinque Terre
» Piedmont
» Sicily
» Tuscany
» Umbria

»» See all Italy Travel Guides...

»» Most Popular Festivals in Italy
Follow us:
     
Share and Bookmark:









Search:
 
Web PrimeItaly.com